Advisory Board

The advisory board is part of the governance framework for PWB. The board is composed of parliamentarians, trade unionists, academics, business people and leading activists operating in their personal capacities.

The Board roots the organisation to its founding objectives of progressive internationalism and provides a sounding board for the development of the work programme, publications schedule and influencing activities.

Founding Board Members

(alphabetical order)

Katarina Barley MEP

Vice President of European Parliament Former Member of the Bundestag, Minister in the Federal German Government and Secretary General of the SPD S&D Germany SPD

Richard Corbett

Advisor to the Secretary General of the European Parliament Leader of the EPLP (UK S&D delegation) 1997-2020, member of Labour’s National Executive, S&D UK Labour MEP for Yorkshire. Served in the cabinet of Herman van Rompuy, President of the European Council.

Miriam Dalli MEP

Vice-President of S&D Group Elected in 2014 and since responsible as rapporteur for a series of major reports for the ENVI (Environment) and LIBE (Civil Liberties) committees, member of ITRE (Industry) committee in current parliament. Former journalist, TV presenter and government advisor. S&D, Malta Partit Laburista

Dr Rohit K Dasgupta

Senior Lecturer/Programme Director, Global Communications & Development Loughborough University, Institute for Media & Creative Industries Labour Councillor, London Borough of Newham, UK parliamentary and European parliament candidate.

Naushabah Khan

Medway Councillor representing Gillingham South. Member of Labour South East Regional Board, Labour parliamentary candidate Rochester & Strood by-election. Practice Director at Four Communications

Sarah King

Partner, Connect Communications. Councillor, London Borough of Southwark representing Camberwell since 2014. Award-winning expert in housing, property and planning policy and communications.

Jude Kirton-Darling

Deputy General Secretary, IndustrAll Europe. Formerly S&D (Labour) MEP for North East England, Confederal Secretary of European TUC. Served on International Trade Committee (INTA)and as S&D Co-ordinator on Petitions Committee (PETI).

Alison McGovern MP

UK Labour MP for Wirral South since 2010. Parliamentary Private Secretary to Gordon Brown and member of International Development Select Committee. Formerly Deputy Leader of London Borough of Southwark Labour Group

Laura Parker

Labour European Parliamentary Candidate for London in 2019. Former organiser for Momentum. Resident in Italy, UK Labour, Partito Democratico

Owen Tudor

Deputy General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation. Formerly Head of EU and International Relations, British Trades Union Congress.